Now panic and freak out

now panic and freak out

I’ve updated slightly this post since it was first published, so I apologise if you’ve seen the previous version…

I’ve been having a pelvic pain when I do some specific movements, like turning over in bed or start walking after sitting for a while. It’s becoming quite annoying, but I thought it was normal and didn’t even talk about it with the GP at the last antenatal appointment.

However I decided to have a look online, and I found out that the “Pelvic Girdle Pain” is something quite common during pregnancy (although I had never heard of it before), but that needs to be managed properly… so I did what comes immediately to mind: I panicked and cried and felt miserable!

Luckily I had my antenatal yoga class yesterday and I asked the teacher for an advice, and she reassured me that the pain might come and go during the pregnancy, and if it’s not too bad I just have to be aware of the movements that trigger it and avoid them. If I do get worried, however, I can ask the midwives and they might refer me to the hospital osteopath for an appointment. I felt better after the class (and all the stretching), and I tried to keep the legs together in bed last night, and I’ve been a bit better today, although I now tend to walk in smaller steps and be more cautious whatever I do. Hopefully this will be enough to manage the pain, and anyway I will discuss with the midwife at the week 28 appointment.

To give you some information on this problem, here is an extract from the NHS website:

Symptoms can include:

  • pain over the pubic bone at the front in the centre
  • pain across one or both sides of your lower back
  • pain in the area between your vagina and anus (perineum)

Pain can also radiate to your thighs, and some women feel or hear a clicking or grinding in the pelvic area. The pain can be most noticeable when you are:

  • walking
  • going upstairs
  • standing on one leg (for example when you’re getting dressed or going upstairs)
  • turning over in bed

I really hope it doesn’t get worse, since I need to work for as long as possible… It doesn’t help that I don’t have paid sick leave at work for the first six months of the contract, i.e. until I start maternity leave, and therefore I cannot easily stay home. Or I can, I can take unpaid leave or I can use my annual leave, however I’m still in my probationary period until the end of February, so I’d rather not.

Anyway, this issue doesn’t bother the baby at all, so it’s OK… It just reminded me of all my fears.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

