Week 38

Tomorrow I’ve got my week 38 appointment. It’s going to be with my GP, the usual 5 minutes to check blood pressure and heartbeat and that’s it. I’m wondering if I should book a private scan, just to check the actual position of the baby, since I don’t trust the GP or the midwives getting it right from the outside… however it’s expensive and what if the baby changes position at the last moment? It probably wouldn’t make any difference anyway, I’m just tired of waiting without doing anything and without seeing anything!

I’ve spent the weekend mostly at home, not feeling very well. There’s a strong correlation with the weather – when it’s wet, I feel down and ache all over – but coupled with the hormonal ups and downs this is really annoying… and it’s hard for L to imagine what he can do to help, obviously. When I feel down, he suggests that I go out for a walk and some fresh air, but it’s really not what I want, I only want to rest and let the day go by. I have the feeling that the rules are different now, and what would work in normal life, doesn’t work now – going out and exercising for example doesn’t make me feel better and doesn’t reduce the discomfort, it only makes me more tired and then I need longer to recover. Enough moaning now, it’s a waiting game really.

We spoke with the priest on Sunday, about Pallino’s Christening. I know, it’s weird to organise it when Pallino is not even born yet, but it’s also necessary, since we want to do it before we travel with him this summer and we want his grandparents here with us. This will happen only around the end of June, when my parents will be about to leave after spending some time with me and L’s parents come to keep me company for a week. It was important then to make sure the church was available. Also the Godmother will have to fly from Italy and need to book flights in advance to get a good deal. Well, there was no problem and everything is booked now. We just need Pallino.

I found these tulips in our garden... aren't they wonderful??

I found these tulips in our garden… aren’t they wonderful??

5 thoughts on “Week 38

  1. Ehi, ci sei quasi!! Piacere di conoscerti e grazie per aver commentato sul mio blog.
    E’ cosi’, all’ultimo anche io avrei voluto vedere la piccola, sapere se era ben posizionata e se tutto procedeva bene, ma tant’e’. Ora leggo un po’ qui e la’ per conoscerti meglio. E magari il prossimo commento lo scrivo in inglese 😀

  2. I hear ya with really wanting another scan! I’m 37 weeks today, and apparently another one is not in my future, unless maybe I put up a stink. I have no real reason to think she’s still breech, but I know that she was at 26 weeks. I’d just hate to go into labor on my own, only to find out that I need an emergency c-section. My girlfriend goes to the same OB as I do, they told her they thought her baby was head down, but she demanded a scan, and lo and behold the baby was very much breech, and she needed a scheduled section.

    I hope it’s not too much longer for you! Good luck! 🙂

    • Thank you! That’s exactly the kind of thing that worries me, all the pain and then a c-section anyway… The doctors seem to be sure the baby is head down though, but not engaged yet, so he can still move…

  3. I hear ya with really wanting another scan! I’m 37 weeks now, and apparently another one is not in my future, even though I always assumed they did one towards the end. I have no real reason to think she’s still breech, but I know she was at 26 weeks.

    My girlfriend goes to the same OB as I do, and while they told her they thought the baby was head down, she demanded a scan anyway. Lo and behold the baby was breech and she had a scheduled section.

    I’d really hate to go into labor, only to find out I need a last minute c-section!

    I hope you don’t have to wait too much longer to meet your little one. Best of luck! 🙂

Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

