Week 39

Week 39… this morning I was awake at 5am,  but I managed to sleep again from 7.30 to 10 and maybe this afternoon I’ll venture out to do some shopping.

This week I had a few mood swings (read unstoppable crying for basically no reason – poor L…): once when I was checking flights for the end of August to go to Italy, and then when we were reviewing my birth plan. I find that I am not able to plan and rationalise things anymore, I soon lose interest and get frustrated and start crying! The flights are so expensive already and I have no idea what will be a good time for us to travel with Pallino, how can I spend lots of money to book the flights now? And about the birth plan, I got all the information I need, I believe: now I don’t want to think about it anymore, I don’t want to plan “what I’d like to happen when the pain is unbearable”, I only want to think that soon I will have a little baby to cuddle and love! L has been great, though, he’s written and printed the plan himself and I had to check it only at the end, so he’ll know what to tell the midwives if necessary. And we haven’t booked any flight yet.

The hospital bag is now ready, apart from the snacks and drinks that we will have to take on the day. Another week? Two more?

After what seemed an interminable week, the haemorrhoids are slowly getting better. I’ve started applying very cold water 2-3 times a day for a few minutes and this, together with the cream I was already applying, seems to improve the situation. This late pregnancy is like old age (in good conditions), with the lack of sleep, incontinence and haemorrhoids… but in this case there’s a whole new life coming soon 🙂

Last but not least, congratulations to Ginger and monthsbeforeyou who had their babies in the last few days… I’ve been following their stories in the last year and it’s so exciting to know that they are mums now, I’m really really happy for them!! 😀

2 thoughts on “Week 39

Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

