A walk in town

Come with me to London today! The sky is grey and we’ve got only a couple of hours, but I’m really excited to see the decorations in town, so… let’s go!

I get off the train at Waterloo station. Not many decorations here, people are busy going to work and run around in all directions.

Waterloo station

Waterloo station

I walk past the Royal Festival Hall and find this “Pedal Powered Snow Dome” on my right – it always makes me smile how every time I come here there is something amazing on display!

Pedal Powered Snow Dome

Pedal Powered Snow Dome

Christmas market on the South Bank

Christmas market on the South Bank

The pedestrian bridge, from Waterloo to Embankment. The skyline changes all the time, in the last eight years I’ve seen skyscrapers going up at a surprising rate. Yet, somehow everything seems to fit straight away here. Look how small is now St Pancras (the dome on the left of the picture) compared to the Shard on the right…

Waterloo Bridge

Waterloo Bridge

The London Skyline

The London Skyline

I cross Trafalgar Square on a bus. Every year there is a modern art display which, in my ignorance, I consistently fail to comprehend. This year is a big blue rooster. Can you spot it?

Trafalgar Square

Trafalgar Square

Snow domes seem to be a theme: there’s  a gigantic one in the middle on Piccadilly Circus!

Piccadilly Circus

Piccadilly Circus

And finally, I walk along Regent Street and Oxford Street, where I’ll take the underground to go back to Waterloo. On Regent Street, the theme of the decorations is a cartoon, Mr Peabody & Sherman; there’s a countdown from 10 to 1, which ends in Oxford Circus, where Mr Peabody wishes you a Merry Christmas 🙂

Regent Street

Regent Street

Oxford Street

Oxford Street

Carnaby Street

Carnaby Street

Some of my favourite places on Regent Street: Hamleys, the toy shop, and Ben’s Cookies, where I had two delicious cookies…

Hamleys, Regent Street

Hamleys, Regent Street

Ben's Cookies, Regent Street

Ben’s Cookies, Regent Street

and then, on the underground in Tottenham Court Road… it’s not all glamour and glitter…

Tottenham Court Road underground station

Tottenham Court Road underground station

Thanks for accompanying me on this walk!

2 thoughts on “A walk in town

  1. yay! I loved the virtual tour of London. I’ve only been to London once – and it was long ago, back in maybe 97 or 98! What a fun walk with all the holiday stuff up! Hope you are doing well!

Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

