Unexpected news

Pallino has been unwell this week, and didn’t sleep much. He had a rush and a throat and ear infection… the GP gave him antibiotics for a week, and he’s been sleeping more than usual during the day, but unfortunately less at night.  I was busy at work and very tired, so trying to reconcile work and family has been quite hard. Luckily L could take a day off on Friday, so I could work, but I had to work a couple of evenings as well, after Pallino went to bed. It worked OK, apart from me being tired. However I haven’t finished the report I was writing and my colleague who was supposed to help me hasn’t done anything because she was working at another project at the same time, so now I still have a lot to do. Anyway, Pallino is feeling better now, and hopefully he’ll sleep better too (please, please)!

A friend of mine called me and told me that she got a good job… in Australia. She’s leaving at the end of May. It’s a great opportunity for her, but to me it’s the end of an era… She was one of the first people I met when I arrived in London in 2006. At the time, I was a PhD student and she was working in a museum in South Kensington and looking for Italian speakers for a language exchange. So we started having lunch together once a week and became friends. I don’t have many English friends, inevitably I get on better with people who have experiences abroad or like other cultures and countries, so her friendship is even more precious. She was there when I met L, she came to our wedding in Italy, she visited when I was abroad for work, she was the first to come to our place when we moved home. We didn’t meet often in the last couple of years, but, like family, it didn’t matter. And now she’s going, and I’ll miss her. I’m going to see her on Wednesday, I’ve invited her for dinner, and I’ll be happy for her and we’ll talk about how great this move will be. But at least in this space, I can say that I’m sorry…

 

One thought on “Unexpected news

  1. Pingback: Magic London… | What is essential is invisible to the eye

Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

