Another step change

Just like this summer, Pallino grew up a lot when we were in Italy. He had an amazing time playing with his grandparents, and he adapted to a new routine very quickly. This time, he wouldn’t go to bed until 10pm or even later, and woke up after 7.30am, so we were able to see the Christmas lights with him in the evening. However, he would wake up during the night, and ended up sleeping with me most nights. And, since we were on holiday and I wanted to sleep, I allowed him (and only now, after two weeks, we are getting back into our normal routine, still with night wakings though).

I think that the fact that all four grandparents don’t speak English helps, because Pallino has to speak Italian with them (one is trying to learn, but with very poor results… it must be so hard at that age…). And indeed, he came back saying many more words in Italian. He seems to understand more as well, both in Italian and in English. And I’m always amazed when observing all these changes, as much natural as magical!

Now he’s combining simple expressions like “mamma, come here. sit down. cuddle!” (how can you be bossy and super-sweet at the same time??); he sings parts of the refrain of the songs he likes, so we know that he wants us to sing them (like “e-i-e-i-o” to sing Old McDonald had a farm), and he walks longer distances without his buggy, until he gets tired and asks for the buggy himself. He’s more aware in general of himself, for example he points at the place where he hurts himself after bumping against something, or he can tell me if the water in his bath is too hot, or outside it’s too cold. And he has a lovely sense of humour and loves to play with me, making sounds and faces, hiding and playing peek-a-boo.

But the biggest question of all remains… will we sleep tonight?

6 thoughts on “Another step change

  1. He is two years i guess? 10 pm is really late. Our son always goes to bed at 19:00 (we are SO happy with that, you can imagine). Really cool your son is bilingual. We have books in english and italian. I’m an italian teacher (for beginners) my husband teaches english, but since it’s not our mothertongue it remaines curiosity. Just a few words.

  2. Ok, I try to write in English in order to improve my skills. Please forgive my mistakes 😉 I am so happy to read that your son is growing bilingual and that grandparents are helping him with Italian. One year and half ago I started to speak in English with my girls as a preparation to our jump Downunder. Now 2G (5 years old) understands and says some simple sentences in English. 3G (20 months old) understands but prefers to say some words in Italian. I really would like them to keep their Italian even if they will attend Australian schools. Maybe in the future I will have to teach them some italian grammar, what do you think?

    • This is a question I’ve asked every son or daughter of Italian immigrants I met… They always say that they didn’t study any grammar, just picked up Italian from family and Italian friends and TV. Is it enough? I don’t know, at this stage. I think that children have so many things to deal with as they grow up that, unless they want to do it, studying Italian formally will not be possible. But they might want to do it on their own later on. I’ll keep up reading good books, for a start…
      Your children will be bilingual before you know it!

Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

