Just the way I am

Women are more prone to changes than men. I had endless discussion with L every time I wanted to change something in our flat, and it takes ages for him to accept it. He would never throw away or renew anything, while I’m constantly on the look for new ideas. I’m sure not all women are like this either; L’s mum for example never changed anything in their house in the last thirty years, so there must be genetics involved as well!

However having a baby requires an immediate change and we have to embrace it without hesitation. Our body changes, our tastes change. Our mood changes all the time (with or without babies). It’s part of being a woman. We tend to adapt to what is going on in our life and end up being different all the time.

So when I listen to the song “Just the way you are”, I get upset. It’s a beautiful song, if only I could stop listening to the lyrics.

I want to be loved despite any change. I want to be loved even if I change the colour of my hair, ’cause I will. I want to be loved even if my body changes, even if I change my style. I want to have new passions and hobbies and all this will still be me. I’m the sum of all these changes. This is just the way I am.

So take me as I am
This may mean
You’ll have to be a stronger man
Rest assured that
When I start to make you nervous
And I’m going to extremes
Tomorrow I will change
And today won’t mean a thing

(“Bitch”, Meredith Brooks)

One thought on “Just the way I am

  1. Pingback: Time to move? | What is essential is invisible to the eye

Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

