The newsletter of doom

This morning I left the house when it was still dark. It’s unusual to me, as the little sleep I get is mainly in the early morning, so my alarm clock is usually at 7.30 (or whatever time Pallino wakes up). 

It was a bit foggy, there was silence on the road, a nice cool air. I like it. 

I was going to the hospital for a blood test, and I had to fast. I normally avoid any contact with other human beings until I’ve had my cappuccino, so that was hard… Anyway, now I’m waiting for the second part of the glucose test, and I have to wait two more hours before being allowed to eat. 

This is the perfect post to talk about some of the joys of pregnancy…

When I was pregnant the first time, I read many books. This time I’ve only downloaded an app, which sends me daily bits of information via email on the development of the baby and symptoms I could experience each week. 

Let’s focus on the symptoms. I haven’t experienced the most serious ones, but I’ve got a good collection of the others… Here they are, straight from the Newsletter of Doom:

  •  backaches
  • swollen feet
  • visible/varicose veins
  • diarrhea
  • gestational diabetes
  • swelling
  • headaches
  • sleeping difficulty
  • emotional symptoms
  • anemia
  • hot flashes
  • morning sickness
  • constipation
  • preeclampsia
  • leg cramps
  • shortness of breath
  • faintness, dizziness, or lightheadedness 
  • abdominal achiness and pain
  • pelvic pain and discomfort
  • breast tenderness
  • carpal tunnel syndrome
  • aching joints
  • gas and bloating
  • hemorrhoids
  • fatigue/exhaustion
  • numb/tingling hands
  • vision changes
  • excessive saliva
  • fuzzy feeling/forgetfulness
  • metallic taste
  • Dizziness/low blood pressure
  • Insomnia

…and I still have two month’s worth of emails before delivery! 

Maybe I’m old, maybe running around with a 3.5 year old at the same time makes it all more difficult, but when people tell me “not long to wait now” I think about the Newsletter of Doom and laugh a bit hysterically… So much for “the glow”!
PS When you meet a pregnant woman, on the bus, at the supermarket, at work…just remember she might experience any of those symptoms right then. Be kind. 

2 thoughts on “The newsletter of doom

  1. IT reminds me of that beautiful saying: “Everyone you meet is carrying a heavy load: be kind”.
    This saying made me write this song:

    Thinking of you all.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

