Week 37

This week is going very slowly… I’m spending most of the time at home, sleeping in the morning and reading or watching movies in the afternoon. We had some social events: we invited a few colleagues of L over for tea and cakes (and doghnuts and cookies and more cakes ecc.), and it was nice: the house was full of people, but, being at my place, I could sit down and rest whenever I wanted, and they were all nice people. One got me a set of sleeping remedies (lavender oil, pillow spray and eye mask), which I’m not sure it can be used during pregnancy but I loved the thought!

Another time I met one of the girls from the nct refresher course, we had lunch together and chatted a bit. It’s good to start knowing people here, feels more like home.

There was also a birthday party in a soft play, with children from Pallino’s nursery. I went because I wanted to see the other mums, but it was very hard for me: loud noises, uncomfortable chair, not being able to mingle… L was there too, so he took care of Pallino, but still I was in pain when we got home, I should have stayed in.

And yesterday L worked from home and took me to a lovely pub for lunch… Now that I’m writing all this, it doesn’t seem that I’m spending all the time at home, it’s just that the days at home feel very long and nights are longer still.

It’s all happened in my first pregnancy as well, only we didn’t have to negotiate any hill at the time, so going out for a short walk was easy, and symptoms appeared a bit later first time round – the pelvic pain a lot later, actually, so now I’m more worn out I guess, as well as being four years older.

I’m a bit worried for Pallino. He keeps saying that the other children don’t want to play with him at the nursery. Last night he came to sleep with me and told me that “when the others don’t want you at the table, you have to change table, taking with you your plate, fork and cup”. How many times has this happened to him? When I go to the nursery, he seems ok. When I ask the carers, they always say he had a good day. In the morning, he goes straight in without a fuss. Is he trying to attract my attention because he’s worried about the baby? Is he feeling anxious? Or is he being bullied at the nursery and the carers don’t even realise?

Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

