Parenting is tough

The sun is shining but I have been anxious. I have tried to catch up with work, and I did something stupid for which I was told off by my boss. I’m clearly not ready to do any work yet. However this triggered all sort of worries in the last few days, from world politics gone mad and the elections approaching, to Pallino’s behaviour. I can’t even vote at these elections, so let’s not think about that. 

We’ve been to a few birthdays parties lately, and Pallino spent them mostly playing on his own. The little time he was with other children, he ended up in a corner while the others threw things at him. Today he broke some toys at the nursery, with other three children. He seems to be struggling to make friends and take a positive role in the group. I used to struggle too. Is there anything we can do to help him? He’s probably just immature in terms​ of social interactions, but how do we help him take his time, without feeling isolated, which is what is happening now? 

For his birthday party, knowing all this, we hired an entertainer to do some storytelling and games. It’s something he enjoys, and everyone could take part in a structured way. It went well. So it’s all good as long as there is an adult to guide the activities. But I can’t make sure there is always an adult with him, because at the nursery the children play on their own as well as doing guided games. To be fair, there is only just over a month to go at the nursery, and then in September he will start school. Will it be better?

2 thoughts on “Parenting is tough

  1. I am also struggling to help my child interact with others and to show her emotions in a more positive way. Parenting is so much harder than I ever thought it would be. I feel like, in about 20 years, we will look back at all this and only remember their cute smiling faces, not the stress and insanity that we are currently living. Stay strong, mama.

Thanks for sharing your thoughts!

